Iran’s new president Ebrahim Raisi submitted a list of 19 cabinet ministers to parliament on 11 August, six days after his swearing-in ceremony (MEES, 6 August). In a hint of what may be to come from a truly conservative government, many figures previously served in public office during the government of former president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and are already on US and EU sanctions lists.

The submission came within the customary two-week period granted after parliamentary inauguration. The list is likely to pass parliament with little difficulty given that the conservatives now control all three branches of government: the presidency, parliament and judiciary. (CONTINUED - 1100 WORDS)