The past fortnight has witnessed critical political developments in Yemen. Not least, is the division of the country into six federal regions.

Following the stepping down of President ‘Ali ‘Abd Allah Salih in 2012, a National Dialogue agreed that Yemen will become a federal state. A committee headed by the new President, ‘Abd Rabu Mansur Hadi, agreed to the federal system under which Yemen is divided into six regions, with extensive authority accorded to the provinces and access to locally-generated revenue. (CONTINUED - 944 WORDS)